2011 Writers Guild Awards Winners

‘Inception’, ‘The Social Network’, and ‘Inside Job’ take home awards for Original Screenplay, Adapted Screenplay and Documentary Screenplay.
BY |

The Writers Guild of America, West (WGAW) and the Writers Guild of America, East (WGAE) tonight announced the winners of the 2011 Writers Guild Awards for outstanding achievement in writing for screen, television, radio, news, promotional, videogame, and new media writing at simultaneous ceremonies at the Renaissance Hollywood Hotel-Grand Ballroom in Los Angeles and the AXA Equitable Center in New York City.

Screen Winners

Original Screenplay

  • Inception, Written by Christopher Nolan; Warner Bros.

    Black Swan, Screenplay by Mark Heyman and Andres Heinz and John J. McLaughlin; Story by Andres Heinz; Fox Searchlight

    The Fighter, Screenplay by Scott Silver and Paul Tamasy & Eric Johnson; Story by Keith Dorrington & Paul Tamasy & Eric Johnson; Paramount Pictures

    The Kids Are All Right, Written by Lisa Cholodenko & Stuart Blumberg; Focus Features

    Please Give, Written by Nicole Holofcener; Sony Pictures Classics

Adapted Screenplay

  • The Social Network, Screenplay by Aaron Sorkin; Based on the book The Accidental Billionaires by Ben Mezrich; Sony Pictures

    127 Hours, Screenplay by Danny Boyle & Simon Beaufoy; Based on the book Between a Rock and a Hard Place by Aron Ralston; Fox Searchlight

    I Love You Phillip Morris, Written by John Requa & Glenn Ficarra; Based on the book by Steve McVicker; Roadside Attractions

    The Town, Screenplay by Peter Craig and Ben Affleck & Aaron Stockard; Based on the novel Prince of Thieves by Chuck Hogan; Warner Bros.

    True Grit, Screenplay by Joel Coen & Ethan Coen; Based on the novel by Charles Portis; Paramount Pictures

Documentary Screenplay

  • Inside Job, Produced, Written and Directed by Charles Ferguson; Co-written by Chad Beck, Adam Bolt; Sony Pictures Classics

    Enemies of the People, Written, Directed, Filmed and Produced by Rob Lemkin and Thet Sambath; International Film Circuit

    Freedom Riders, Written, Produced and Directed by Stanley Nelson; International Film Circuit

    GasLand, Written and Directed by Josh Fox; HBO Documentary Films and International WOW Company

    The Two Escobars, Written by Michael Zimbalist, Jeff Zimbalist; ESPN Films

    Who Is Harry Nilsson (And Why Is Everybody Talkin' About Him)?, Written and Directed by John Scheinfeld; Lorber Films

Television Winners

Drama Series

  • Mad Men, Written by Jonathan Abrahams, Lisa Albert, Keith Huff, Jonathan Igla, André Jacquemetton, Maria Jacquemetton, Brett Johnson, Janet Leahy, Erin Levy, Tracy McMillan, Dahvi Waller, Matthew Weiner; AMC

Comedy Series

  • Modern Family, Written by Jerry Collins, Paul Corrigan, Alex Herschlag, Abraham Higginbotham, Elaine Ko, Joe Lawson, Steven Levitan, Christopher Lloyd, Dan O'Shannon, Jeffrey Richman, Brad Walsh, Ilana Wernick, Bill Wrubel, Danny Zuker; ABC

New Series

  • Boardwalk Empire, Written by Meg Jackson, Lawrence Konner, Howard Korder, Steve Kornacki, Margaret Nagle, Timothy Van Patten, Paul Simms, Terence Winter; HBO

Episodic Drama - any length - one airing time

  • The Chrysanthemum and the Sword (Mad Men), Written by Erin Levy; AMC

Episodic Comedy - any length - one airing time


  • When It Rains, It Pours (30 Rock), Written by Robert Carlock; NBC

Long Form - Original - over one hour - one or two parts, one or two airing times

  • The Special Relationship, Written by Peter Morgan; HBO

Long Form - Adaptation - over one hour - one or two parts, one or two airing times

  • The Pacific, Part Eight Written by Robert Schenkkan and Michelle Ashford, Based in part on the books Helmet for My Pillow by Robert Leckie and With The Old Breed by Eugene Sledge with additional material from Red Blood, Black Sand by Chuck Tatum and China Marine by Eugene Sledge; HBO

Animation - any length - one airing time

  • The Prisoner of Benda (Futurama), Written by Ken Keeler; Comedy Central

Comedy/Variety - (Including Talk) Series

  • The Colbert Report, Writers: Barry Julien, Dan Guterman, Eric Drysdale, Frank Lesser, Glenn Eichler, Jay Katsir, Maximilian Werner, Meredith Scardino, Michael Brumm, Opus Moreschi, Peter Gwinn, Rich Dahm, Rob Dubbin, Scott Sherman, Stephen Colbert, Tom Purcell, Peter Grosz, Paul Dinello; Comedy Central

Comedy/Variety - Music, Awards, Tributes - Specials

  • National Memorial Day Concert 2010, Written by Joan Meyerson; PBS

Daytime Drama

  • As the World Turns, Written by Susan Dansby, Lucky Gold, Janet Iacobuzio, Penelope Koechl, David Kreizman, Leah Laiman, David A. Levinson, Leslie Nipkow, Jean Passanante, Gordon Rayfield, David Smilow; CBS

Children's Episodic and Specials

  • Happy Ha-Ha Holidays (Imagination Movers), Written by Michael G. Stern, Randi Barnes, Rick Gitelson, Scott Gray; Disney Channel

Children's Script - Long Form or Special

  • Avalon High, Teleplay by Julie Sherman Wolfe and Amy Talkington, Based on the novel by Meg Cabot; Disney Channel

Documentary - Current Events

  • Flying Cheap (Frontline), Written by Rick Young; PBS

Documentary - Other Than Current Events

  • Wyatt Earp (The American Experience), Written by Rob Rapley; PBS

News - Regularly Scheduled, Bulletin or Breaking Report

  • Sunday Morning Almanac (CBS Sunday Morning), Written by Thomas A. Harris; CBS News

News - Analysis, Feature or Commentary

  • Resurrecting Eden (60 Minutes), Written by Jenny Dubin; CBS

Radio Winners


  • 2009 Year in Review, Written by Gail Lee; CBS Radio News

News - Regularly Scheduled or Breaking

  • CBS World News Roundup, Written by Paul Farry; CBS Radio News

News - Analysis, Features or Commentary

  • Passages, Written by Gail Lee; CBS Radio News

Promotional Writing And Graphic Animation Winners

On-Air Promotion (Radio or Television)

  • CSI: Crime Scene Investigation Promos, Written by Anne de Vega; CBS

Television Graphic Animation

  • Sunday Morning, By Design (CBS Sunday Morning), Graphic Designer Bob Pook, Graphic Artist Diane Robinson; CBS News

Videogame Writing Winner

  • Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood, Story by Patrice Desilets, Jeffrey Yohalem, Corey May; Lead Script Writer: Jeffrey Yohalem; Script Writers: Ethan Petty, Nicholas Grimwood, Matt Turner; Ubisoft

New Media Writing Winners

Outstanding Achievement in Writing - Original New Media

  • The Real Thing, Identity Crisis, Girl Talk, Naming Things, Curtain Up (Anyone But Me), Written by Susan Miller, Tina Cesa Ward; AnyoneButMeSeries.com

Outstanding Achievement in Writing - Derivative New Media

  • Strip Pong, Tear Jerks, Brainstorm, (Frank vs. Lutz), Written by Jon Haller; 30 Rock New Media, NBC.com

Inception was released July 16th, 2010.

Black Swan was released December 3rd, 2010.

The Fighter was released December 10th, 2010.

The Kids Are All Right was released July 9th, 2010.

Please Give was released April 30th, 2010.

The Social Network was released October 1st, 2010.

127 Hours was released November 5th, 2010.

I Love You Phillip Morris was released December 3rd, 2010.

The Town was released September 17th, 2010.

True Grit was released December 22nd, 2010.

The Special Relationship was released in 2011.

Sources: Writers Guild of America

Best of the Web

Around The Web


Popular Movies