crypt

Looper Review

“This Time Travel Crap Just Fries Your Brain Like An Egg...”

October 9th, 2012

Well, this is a great example of a disappointing movie. It is getting such high reviews, and everyone seems to love it. It started out so amazing. Such a brilliant story, great acting, phenomenal casting choices, and tricky camerawork/cinematography. However, there is a breaking point when it appears as though screenwriter/director Rihan Johnson just stopped and got sloppy. I feel like maybe he had a deadline for the script, and he had to meet it, so he threw some things in there that did not need to be. How I will construct this review, will be mentioning all the good things first, and then the bad at the end. I'll write my review backwards then I usually would.

Visually, this movie is very cool I enjoyed the cinematography, involving some very cool shots, and sweet editing, as well as special effects. They took full advantage of this, and did not make it too over-the-top with the skills the director and editor obviously had. Another thing, visually, would be the make up. Joseph Gordon-Levitt plays Joe, and does Bruce Willis plays "Old Joe" from the future. Now, for Joseph Gordon-Levitt, they added makeup to make him look like Bruce Willis. Overall, I felt the makeup was amazing. But every once in a while, I felt they over did the makeup, causing him to look extremely fake. Which is why I cannot give the movie visually 5 stars.

The acting by Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Bruce Willis are pitch-perfect. They play well off of each other when they meet up, and even act like each other prior to their meeting, and when they're apart. Besides them though, I enjoyed all the co-stars very much. They seemed to take their jobs seriously. My only complaint was the child actor towards the end, but hey. He's a child actor, so I did not expect too much. But I still felt he not only looked dorky (forgive me for being rude like that), but he acted as so too.

Now, the story is so amazing, I had a small feeling in the back of my head that they could not reach it's full potential, with being how awesome the story is. Looper is about a small group of people cleverly called "loopers" who are sent a person from the future, who they must kill for whatever reason. Joseph Gordon-Levitt is sent his future self! Which he accidentally lets get away. So now, he must find his future self and try to re-gain his status back at the company for which he works for. But his future self has a goal of his own. Which is kill the man who killed his wife, and sent him back in time to be killed. This is such a complex plot, they should have hired a more skilled, and experienced writer to do it.

Now, the film starts out brilliant. There is sadly a point in this movie, where it simply starts going down hill, down and down, until now we are left with a sloppy mess that adds things is should not have added, and barley foreshadowed at all. It went directions it should not have, and basically left out Old Joe (Bruce WIllis I mean) for a so long, you almost forget what the main plot of the movie is about. I will not give examples, but honestly, it made no sense. I was expecting further development with the story line, but instead it seemingly stops for a while, and when it picks up again, you're just too damn confused and uninterested as to what all this filler means, you just don't care anymore. Or at least that's how it was for me. Maybe you will think differently, and agree with the rest of the reviews on this site. But I was immensely disappointed.

Just as a little side note, before I go, I do not wish to get into any fights with the people who think this movie is amazing. I respect your opinions, and do not wish to fight you about how good you think this movie is. Hope you enjoyed my review, and take on this movie. My final word is wait for DVD.

29 comments

Want to join the discussion?

Facebook Twitter
  • crypt • 3 years ago

    @the-movieghost Oh did i use that word too much? haha i tend to do that if i dont write a review in one sitting.

    reply

    • the-movieghost • 3 years ago

      @crypt Hm... well you do have some interesting points here. I can't see them myself, but to each his own. One thing I will point out though, you seemed to favor the word "now" seeing as how you used it twice :P

      reply

      • crypt • 3 years ago

        @slysnide Oh hey, its ok you used that title, I might have done the same thing before. Anyway, I am glad someone agrees. And like you state, giving 4 for the first half of the film, I can understand, because the first half was quite brilliant. But sadly the farmhouse was the cut off point for brilliance.

        reply

        • slysnide • 3 years ago

          @crypt: Agreed on Old Joe. He entered the story and I was like "oh this guy is gonna be badass" especially after their exchange at the diner, and then he just disappears till the climax save for a couple really quick scenes. I thought the movie went downhill when Young Joe first arrived at the farmhouse, cause that's when it got slow as hell, and given the details about the rainmaker and Old Joe's mission, I figured out the ending really early. Sorry I accidentally used the same overall quote as yours in my review. Bones&Sabers pointed that out to me. I gave it 4/5 for the first half of the film, and for still being entertaining, but I agree it lost its originality at around the same point you got bored with the film too.

          reply

          • @corey i for one am with @crypt just because it may hold a furthered intellect in the opening it still doesn't justify it being something slushy and anorexia of any intellectual integrity- it went limp- the characters felt dampened- I can see the genius- I for one rated it 3 stars but it can be a bold brassy all out film that holds esteem but in the down play it was a tad redundant.

            reply

            • @crypt lol you can say that

              reply

              • crypt • 3 years ago

                @The-Mudder-F-cking-Loud-Killer Yeah, started out good, but got sloppy

                reply

                • films like Looper- when and if i do feel the need to review it- in all pure substance people will come to it thinking- the same as everyone else- it is an intelleigient film- so i will tread carfully- yes i like the evil films- but to put it in league i would prefer to spend my days wtaching films like Looper- but sadly Looper isnt that type of film- it starts off as- perhaps the best Science Fiction Time Travel...but midway thought it cascades and just fails. A two star mess.

                  reply

                  • crypt • 3 years ago

                    @john-m Thank you, sir. I will give the film respect by re-watching it on DVD.

                    reply

                    • john-m • 3 years ago

                      Like Corey said I won't be a dick. Do I think you're wrong yes, but it's your opinion and your right to have it. I will say you did a good job voicing your opinion of the film.

                      reply

                      • crypt • 3 years ago

                        @skywise They were not the best :P Tower of Evil was funny as hell, if I remember correctly.

                        reply

                        • skywise • 3 years ago

                          @crypt Horror Hospital was pretty good. But the others you mentioned I am unfamaliar with.

                          reply

                          • crypt • 3 years ago

                            @bawnian-dexeus I thought about that; the film has a lot of great elements. I just did not like the way it left me feeling afterwards, but hey, I may bump it up to a 2 star.

                            reply

                            • crypt • 3 years ago

                              @skywise Ok, I'll look forward to it! And look over a few of your reviews, and see which ones I can tell are Australian or not. haha I got this 4 DVD set called "The Aussie Horror Collection" or something to that effect. Came with Horror Hospital (the best one), Curse of the Voodoo, Tower of Evil and something else...

                              reply

                              • bawnian-dexeus • 3 years ago

                                Though I think with the praise you gave for the other elements, the score could have been a bit higher, but it's your opinion and your review.

                                reply

                                • skywise • 3 years ago

                                  @crypt I really am going to do that Loved Ones review. If you have read any of my reviews you probably noticed that I have a fondness for Aussie films. They are pumping out some great movies lately and Loved ones is one of the best so far. I will definatly get on that becaue when it comes to horror I really enjoy your views.

                                  reply

                                  • crypt • 3 years ago

                                    @skywise Well, for the record I never felt it was slow as in boring. I felt it slowed down immensely as far as plot development goes, though.

                                    Yeah, I still would read a review of The Loved Ones for sure. But yeah, so write a great review it takes time. I pump out one of these in 10-20 minutes. Maybe I should take more time. But whenever I re-read over them, I never think of stuff to add anyways. haha

                                    reply

                                    • skywise • 3 years ago

                                      @crypt I have heard the film gets a little slow at certain points but again I have no idea.

                                      I will see it as soon as I can but I really want to review The Loved ones next. I am so bad about writing reviews. Not nearly as dedicated as many of you are.

                                      reply

                                      • crypt • 3 years ago

                                        @skywise Definitely. If you see it, let me know, or sh*t. Even write a review! haha But yeah, there is a point where Joseph Gordon LEvitt goes to a cabin, and he stays at the cabin for far too long, and they have so much unnecessary stuff from there.

                                        reply

                                        • skywise • 3 years ago

                                          @crypt Perhapos when I get around to seeing it we can discuss further. But I appreciate you not going into to many spoilers.

                                          reply

                                          • crypt • 3 years ago

                                            @skywise And thanks! Yeah, I loved the plot and the time travel sh*t was well done. You'd have to see the movie for me to explain better what I did not like about it; my review only slightly mentions it. Could not speak of it without giving too much away. but hey, you may like it more than me if you saw it; i personally thought this looked great from the trailers, myself

                                            reply