catwoman

Tropic Thunder Review

“Oh... I Don't Read The Script, The Script Reads Me.”

August 21st, 2008

Very few movies make me laugh, and I think just about everyone on this site knws my outlook on comedys. All they are is sex, sex, sex, and more sex. Exaples: Superbad, Scary Movie, Collage, need I list more? Unfortunatly, this had a few jokes scattered throughout the film, but I have learned that I can never win. So, having learned that, I saw Tropic Thunder. I am so glad I did. It is a non-stop laugh riot!

I heard in numerous places that Tom Cruise was the best part in the movie. That is not true. The best part of the movie would be Robert Dowwney Jr. He is one of my favorite actors, and his "contriversal surgery" was hysterical. The only thing is, because he was "in the character" I couldn't understand what he was saying all the time, but I think that's the way it was suppose to be.

I didn't use to care about Ben Stiller all that much, but just recently, I am starting to see how talented he really is. Tropic Thunder shows his talent. He wrote, directed, produced, and, (duh) starred in the movie! To me that's talent! Especially when you have to try to be as funny as he is in this movie.

Now, I know many of you hate Jake Black, and if you are one of them, you better not see this movie, because let me tell you, you will most likely walk out of the theater. Personally, I like him, especially in this film, but I can see him getting on many people's nerves. Especially at the beginning, when they have "fake" trailers.

Like I said when I was talking about Robert Downey Jr, Tom Cruise is not that funny. Sure he has him moments, but he dances, twice, and that was not funny, that was RETARDED. I will say they did a good job on the make-up because he is overweight in this movie, and I know he isn't in real life.

Matthew McCaughney (spelling?) playes a very likeable character in here. Normally I don't care for him too much, but in this I do. He is the only one who cares about Stiller's carrer and life, when no one elese does. I just don't like his name in the movie, and you'll know when you see the film.

I don't see too many movies that deserve 5 stars, though sometimes I give it a 5, but Tropic Thunder deserves a 5! That's for damn sure!

No shit!

26 comments

Want to join the discussion?

Facebook Twitter
  • catwoman • 7 years ago

    strange... very strange. i really don't know what to tell ya, but at least it's saved, so when movieweb's glitch is gone, then you can post it.

    reply

    • insertusernamehere • 7 years ago

      I have it saved. I've tried it idk how many times. I should just post it on a thread lmao

      reply

      • catwoman • 7 years ago

        that has happened to me in the past, but I just posted my review for a movie just a few seconds ago, so maybe it's working. IDK

        What I do is, before I submit my revew, I copy it, so in case I loose it, I have it copied, so I can try it again.

        reply

        • insertusernamehere • 7 years ago

          I still can't post my damn review for this and it's one of my best yet

          reply

          • catwoman • 7 years ago

            I hope you get to, Duke

            reply

            • raoulduke33 • 7 years ago

              Can't wait to see this.

              reply

              • dugangsta • 7 years ago

                crapy revew. my tropic tunder revew iz beter den dis shyt

                reply

                • slysnide • 7 years ago

                  Yeah, I saw Ben Stiller giving an interview to some British guy with a black curtain behind them on KVIE/PBS around midnight sometime last week. Ben seemed to be getting really in depth with the whole explanation of the characters, though that would only be good for those who HADN'T seen the film, which I already had.

                  And yeah, I finally got a new high speed computer. Virus free. That's why I've been offline for the past month. We decided to just not pay the dial up bill and wait for them to cancel us untill we bought a new one, and we stopped paying it in May. Ordering took some weeks. Apparently lots of people did the same thing years back when high speed first came around. So no more 90 minute "2 minute trailer" downloads!

                  reply

                  • catwoman • 7 years ago

                    Well, sly, I thougt you were gone, welcome back!!

                    9 years, huh. wow.

                    reply

                    • slysnide • 7 years ago

                      You know that Ben Stiller spent 9yrs writing the script for this movie. Yep. 9yrs. I couldn't believe it either. Hence why I think it coulda been better at times. Like it needed some more of Lazarus leading the jungle trek in his character. Imagine how much farther they coulda taken him. Still good though.

                      Review coming soon.

                      reply

                      • thedarkknight23 • 7 years ago

                        I like Tom even though what he believes in

                        reply

                        • catwoman • 7 years ago

                          Neither did I on Tom Cruise and Matt McCaunghey.

                          And ya, sure I'll get better, but your reviews are like triple this! And I mean I kinda took your style because of the character bios and the title of my review is a quote from the movie. Though sometimes I do that anyways.

                          ao, thanks for the encouragement, but...

                          reply

                          • vampire2000 • 7 years ago

                            No problem, I didn't really notice, and whatdya mean, "that'll never happen?" I'm sure you'll get better than me sometime. lol. You know until I'd read some reviews I'd had no clue that Tom Cruise and Matthew McConaughey was in this.

                            reply

                            • catwoman • 7 years ago

                              thank you very much! I think my writings are improving. Maybe in a year or 2 I will be as good as you! lol. That'll never happen.

                              Sorry, I kinda copied your style of review, and didn't realise it till now.

                              reply

                              • vampire2000 • 7 years ago

                                Great review Crypt! Your best yet!

                                reply

                                • catwoman • 7 years ago

                                  Well, thank you. I too hate people that have a one sentence review saying "this movie is fu*king awesome and i love it" that usually includes many spelling errors and grammar mistakes. Quite UNLIKE your reviews, moviebuff.

                                  Glad you liked the review, and thank you. I am glad I gave this a 5. ;)

                                  reply

                                  • moviebuff123 • 7 years ago

                                    Yes sir... although I may disagree with some of the reviewers on this website, I have the upmost respect for views. I like to say... "let's just agree to disagree" haha

                                    I DO like the way you support your views... real nice. There are some reviewers who just say "its an awesome movie" but don't back it up. You did.

                                    Since I don't think its a "perfect" movie... maybe I wouldn't have even commented on your review if you had given it 4 1/2 stars...so maybe its good you gave it 5... cause it sparked this conversation.

                                    So... I may disagree with the rating... but I liked the review. Good job.

                                    reply

                                    • catwoman • 7 years ago

                                      thank you for respecting my opinion, and i too respect yours

                                      reply

                                      • catwoman • 7 years ago

                                        Moviebuff-

                                        Yes, not perfect movie. I see you gave it 3.5. Hmmm... I think it deserves more for a few reasons. Mainly because while Robert stole the show, Ben did just about everything to make this movie got out there. THAT itself deserves credit, which I dont think its getting.

                                        Also, it is sooo hard to make me laugh. I see previews for all these comedy movies coming out. I just sit there and go "that was funny?" But with Tropic Thunder, I said "That was funny!"

                                        See the puncuation mark difference.

                                        While I agree with a different role for Tom Cruise, i dont know aout a good one. Sure it was funny that they were gonna leave him there for money and a plane, and when he was swearing at thos dragon guys, but when he turned on that God-awful song and danced, I was saying "That was funny?" with a question mark.

                                        So in my opinion, 5 stars because its hard to make me laugh (unless its british) and Ben Stiller deserves kudos because he wrote, directed, produces, and starred in the 5 star film-

                                        TROPIC THUNDER!!!!

                                        does that help with my opinion, moviebuff?

                                        reply

                                        • moviebuff123 • 7 years ago

                                          This is NOT a 5 star movie. There is no way this is one of the best films of all-time. That's what 5 stars means... its a perfect or slightly less than perfect movie. It's not.

                                          I'm glad you really liked the movie Crypt, in fact, so did I... but FIVE stars? No.

                                          Agree with the Downey Jr comment... he was great. Disagree with the Tom Cruise comment... he was great. That character was out of his normal roles and he did very well.

                                          We all have our different opinions... and I respect yours... but I don't see how you can view this movie perfect or even near perfect. It had quite a few flaws.

                                          reply