As the World Turns


Debuting in 1956, As The World Turns has been grounded in real characters in the real world, bringing current social issues to the forefront through fresh, thought provoking stories.

A town that you can find everywhere and nowhere, Oakdale’s multi-generational families are familiar and yet still unpredictable, their stories very much like your own but still able to move and touch you in surprising and unexpected ways. At the heart of the show are four different but compelling families, all having found their home in the town of Oakdale. The working upper class Hughes family, the first family of Oakdale, remain great pillars of the community. Their beloved matriarch, Nancy Hughes, is still currently portrayed by original cast member Helen Wagner. The self-made Stewarts, in regular toil with the Hughes both professionally and personally, are also a deeply rooted Oakdale family that continues to thrive. The simple, country Snyder clan has had its own share of entertaining clashes and successes as they mingle with the townies of Oakdale. Lastly is the sophisticated, worldly Ryan family; a brood of flawed, well intending angels and devils whose passionate value of family often leads them into dark and dangerous territory.

The 2010 Writers Guild of America Awards Winners

The Writers Guild of America, East (WGAE) and the Writers Guild of America, West (WGAW) tonight announced the winners of the 2010 Writers Guild Awards for outstanding achievement in writing for screen, television, radio, news, promotional, and videogame writing at simultaneous ceremonies at the Hudson Theatre at the Millennium Broadway Hotel in New York City and the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza Hotel in Los Angeles. Susie Essman of Curb Your Enthusiasm hosted the East Coast show, which was executive produced by Craig Shemin, who was also the head writer. Seth MacFarlane (Family Guy) hosted the West Coast show, which was executive produced by Spike Jones, Jr.

The Writers Guild of America, East presented special honors to: Alan Zweibel - Ian McLellan Hunter Lifetime Achievement Award; Gary David Goldberg - Herb Sargent Award for Comedy Excellence; Edward Albee - Evelyn F. Burkey Award for contributions bringing honor and dignity to writers everywhere; David Steven Cohen - Jablow Award for devoted service to the Guild, and Philippa Leverman - John Merriman Award for Study of Broadcast Journalism at American University. In addition, the Writers Guild of America, East Foundation presented the Michael Collyer Memorial Fellowship in Screenwriting to Antal Zambo of Wayne State University.

Read More

CBS to Stream Three Daytime Soaps on the Same Day It Broadcast on Air

The streaming of full-length daytime episodes on expands the site's roster of popular programming which already includes CBS prime time series and original web content. It also builds on the existing daytime content at, which has always been one of the most popular areas on the site.

Read More
  • First Aired