The writers of Brokeback Mountain, Capote, The Constant Gardener, A History of Violence and Syriana have been nominated for USC’s 18th Scripter Award, honoring the year’s best film adaptation of a book, novella or short story.

It is the only award that recognizes both author and screenwriter for a film adaptation.

Finalists for this year’s award are in alphabetical order by film title: Brokeback Mountain, Annie Proulx, author, and Larry McMurtry and Diana Ossana, screenwriters; Capote, Gerald Clarke, author, and Dan Futterman, screenwriter; The Constant Gardener, John le Carré, author, and Jeffrey Caine, screenwriter; A History of Violence, John Wagner and Vince Locke, authors, and Josh Olson, screenwriter; and Syriana, Robert Baer (See No Evil), author, and Stephen Gaghan, screenwriter.

Academy Award -winning screenwriter Tom Schulman, chair of this year’s Scripter selection committee, announced the finalists Jan. 6, on behalf of the Friends of the USC Libraries, which sponsors the award.

The selection committee comprises Writers Guild of America members, Academy Award-winning and -nominated screenwriters; authors; film industry executives; faculty; and selected members of the Friends of the USC Libraries.

The committee narrowed the year’s 47 eligible films to five finalists and will announce the winner Jan. 13.

The annual black-tie gala dinner honoring the winning collaboration will be held on Saturday, Feb. 11, in USC’s historic Edward L. Doheny Jr. Memorial Library. Henry Winkler will emcee, with Hal Kanter returning as grand emcee.

The Scripter Award is given annually to honor writers for the best achievement in adaptation among English-language films based on a book or short story that were released the previous year.

Past Scripter winners include the authors and screenwriters of Million Dollar Baby, The Hours, A Beautiful Mind, L.A. Confidential, The English Patient and Schindler’s List.

For additional information, please call (213) 740-2328, e-mail [email protected] or visit