Film Independent, the non-profit arts organization that produces the Spirit Awards and the Los Angeles Film Festival, announced nominations this morning for the 2011 Film Independent Spirit Awards. Eva Mendes and Jeremy Renner served as presenters and 2011 Spirit Awards host Joel McHale was also on hand. Nominees for Best Feature include 127 Hours, Black Swan, Greenberg, The Kids Are All Right and Winter's Bone.

Please Give was selected for the Robert Altman Award, which is given to one film's director, casting director and ensemble cast.

"The artistic side of independent film is stronger than ever, and it's especially impressive to see the developed craft of extraordinary independent filmmakers who have only gotten better over the years. Past nominees such as Darren Aronofsky, Noah Baumbach, Danny Boyle, Lisa Cholodenko, Debra Granik, Nicole Holofcener and John Cameron Mitchell continue to create original and compelling films that move and amaze us," said Film Independent Executive Director Dawn Hudson.

Selected from 220 submissions, this year's winners will be announced at the Film Independent Spirit Awards on Saturday, February 26, 2011 at 2:00 p.m. on the beach in Santa Monica. The 26th annual awards show will air exclusively that night on IFC at 10:00 p.m. ET/PT. Winners of the Filmmaker Grants will be highlighted during the Spirit Awards and announced at the 2011 Spirit Awards Nominee Brunch celebration on Saturday, January 15th at BOA Steakhouse in West Hollywood.

On Wednesday, February 23, a selection of Spirit Award nominees will discuss their films and their craft at Film Independent's Directors Close-Up, a 5-week series that features conversations with directors and their collaborators.

The Jameson FIND Your Audience Award, a new filmmaker grant, was established this year to help make it possible for one Spirit Award-nominated film to find a broader audience. Spirit Award-nominated films in need of expanding their marketing and distribution efforts will be considered. The award includes a $50,000 marketing and distribution grant, funded by Jameson Irish Whiskey. The grant was designed to meet independent filmmakers' biggest challenge today: How to get their films out into the marketplace. A blue-ribbon committee will determine the winner.

2011 Spirit Award Nominations

Best Feature (Award given to the Producer, Executive Producers are not listed)

Best Director

Best Screenplay

Best First Feature (Award given to the director and producer)

Best First Screenplay

  • Diane Bell - Obselidia
  • - Lena Dunham - Tiny Furniture
  • - Nicholas Fackler - Lovely, Still
  • - Bob Glaudini - Jack Goes Boating
  • - Dana Adam Shapiro, Evan M. Wiener - {no_film

John Cassavetes Award - Given to the best feature made for under $500,000. Award given to the writer, director, and producer. Executive Producers are not listed

  • Daddy Longlegs - Writer/Directors: Ben Safdie, Joshua Safdie, Producers: Casey Neistat, Tom Scott
  • - Lbs. - Director: Matthew Bonifacio, Writer/Producers: Matthew Bonifacio, Carmine Famiglietti
  • - Lovers of Hate - Writer/Director: Bryan Poyser, Producer: Megan Gilbride
  • - Obselidia - Writer/Director: Diane Bell, Producers: Chris Byrne, Matthew Medlin
  • - The Exploding Girl - Writer/Director: Bradley Rust Gray, Producers: Karin Chien, Ben Howe, So Yong Kim

Best Female Lead

Best Male Lead

Best Supporting Female

Best Supporting Male

Best Cinematography

  • Adam Kimmel - Never Let Me Go
  • - Matthew Libatique - Black Swan
  • - Jody Lee Lipes - Tiny Furniture
  • - Michael McDonough - Winter's Bone
  • - Greenberg

Best Documentary (Award given to the director)

Best Foreign Film (Award given to the director)

  • Kisses (Ireland) - Director: Lance Daly
  • - Mademoiselle Chambon (France) - Director: Stéphane Brizé
  • - Of Gods and Men (Morocco) - Director: Xavier Beauvois
  • - The King's Speech (United Kingdom) - Director: Tom Hooper
  • - Uncle Boonmee Who Can Recall His Past Lives (Thailand) - Director: Apichatpong Weerasethakul

Acura Someone to Watch Award - The 17th annual Acura Someone to Watch Award recognizes a talented filmmaker of singular vision who has not yet received appropriate recognition. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by Acura.

  • Hossein Keshavarz - Dog Sweat
  • - Laurel Nakadate - The Wolf Knife
  • - Mike Ott - Littlerock

Piaget Producers Award - The 14th annual Piaget Producers Award honors emerging producers who, despite highly limited resources demonstrate the creativity, tenacity, and vision required to produce quality, independent films. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by Piaget.

  • In-Ah Lee - Au Revoir Taipei
  • - Adele Romanski - The Myth of the American Sleepover
  • - Anish Savjani - Meek's Cutoff

Aveeno Truer Than Fiction Award - The 16th annual Aveeno Truer Than Fiction Award is presented to an emerging director of non-fiction features who has not yet received significant recognition. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by Aveeno.

  • Ilisa Barbash, Lucien Castaing-Taylor - Sweetgrass
  • - Jeff Malmberg - Marwencol
  • - Lynn True, Nelson Walker - Summer Pasture

Robert Altman Award - (Given to one film's director, casting director, and its ensemble cast)