The Artist was named Best Film at tonight's Orange British Academy Film Awards hosted by Stephen Fry, held at London's Royal Opera House. The film also won six other awards: Director, Original Screenplay, Original Music, Cinematography, Costume Design as well as a performance award for Jean Dujardin who won the Leading Actor BAFTA.

Meryl Streep was awarded the BAFTA for Leading Actress for her performance as Margaret Thatcher in The Iron Lady; the film was also honoured in the Make-Up & Hair category.

The Help's Octavia Spencer won the Supporting Actress category and Christopher Plummer won Supporting Actor for his performance in Beginners.

RELATED: Bridesmaids Almost Went Super Dark with a Dead Body Gag

Outstanding British Film and Adapted Screenplay were awarded to Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy and Senna won the Documentary and Editing BAFTAs. Hugo won two BAFTAs in Production Design and Sound. Pedro Almodóvar's The Skin I Live In won the Film Not in the English Language category and Rango won the BAFTA for Animated Film. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows - Part 2 was awarded the BAFTA for Special Visual Effects.

Director Paddy Considine and Producer Diarmid Scrimshaw received the award for Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer for their first feature film Tyrannosaur, based upon the short film Dog Altogether that won them the Short Film BAFTA in 2008.

The Orange Wednesdays Rising Star Award was presented to Adam Deacon, recently seen in Anuvahood and Kidulthood. This award, the only one voted for by the public, recognises an international actor or actress who has demonstrated exceptional talent and has begun to be recognised as a film star in the making. The award is now in its seventh year and was created in honour of Mary Selway, the highly respected casting director who passed away in 2004.

A Morning Stroll won the Short Animation award and the Short Film award was presented to Pitch Black Heist.

The award for Outstanding British Contribution to Cinema was received by John Hurt. The Fellowship, the highest accolade which the Academy can bestow, was presented to Martin Scorsese.