The Producers Guild of America announced today the motion picture and long-form television nominations for the 23rd Annual Producers Guild Awards. The categories include: The Darryl F. Zanuck Producer of the Year Award in Theatrical Motion Pictures; The Producers Guild of America Producer of the Year Award in Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures; and The David L. Wolper Producer of the Year Award in Long-Form Television. The documentary film category and other television category nominations were already announced by the Guild in December 2011.

All 2012 Producers Guild Award winners will be announced on January 21, 2012 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel. This year, the Producers Guild will also award special honors to Leslie Moonves (Milestone Award), Steven Spielberg (David O. Selznick Achievement Award in Theatrical Motion Pictures), Don Mischer (Norman Lear Achievement Award in Television), Stan Lee (Vanguard Award), and In the Land of Blood and Honey (The Stanley Kramer Award). The 2012 Producers Guild Awards co-chairs are Paula Wagner and Michael Manheim.

RELATED: Eternals Won't Feature Black Knight, But Does Have a Game of Thrones Reunion

The 2012 Producers Guild nominated films and television programs are listed below in alphabetical order by category, along with producers. The producers' names listed for each nominated production are listed in alphabetical order and are not necessarily the proper order of credits.

The theatrical motion picture nominees are:

The television nominees are:

  • Cinema Verite (HBO) - Producers: Zanne Devine, Karyn McCarthy
  • - Downton Abbey (Masterpiece) (PBS) - Producers: Julian Fellowes, Nigel Marchant, Gareth Neame
  • - The Kennedys (ReelzChannel) - Producers: Jon Cassar, Jonathan Koch, Stephen Kronish, Steve Michaels, Michael Prupas, Jamie Paul Rock, Joel Surnow
  • - Mildred Pierce (HBO) - Producers: Todd Haynes, Pamela Koffler, Ilene S. Landress, Christine Vachon

*The Long-Form Television category encompasses both movies of the week and mini-series.

In December 2011, the Producers Guild of America announced the Documentary Theatrical Motion Picture, Television Series and Non-Fiction Television Nominations; the following list includes complete producer credits.

  • 30 for 30 (ESPN) -Producers: John Dahl, Connor Schell, no_perosn|Bill Simmons
  • - American Masters (PBS) - Producers: Susan Lacy, Julie Sacks
  • - Anthony Bourdain: No Reservations (Travel Channel) - Producers: Christopher Collins, Julie Lei, Lydia Tenaglia, Tom Vitale
  • - Deadliest Catch: Crab Fishing in Alaska (Discovery Channel) - Producers: Thom Beers, Jeff Conroy, John Gray, Sheila McCormack, Ethan Prochnik, Bill Pruitt, Matt Renner

Below are new categories for the 2012 Producers Guild Awards; three television categories and one web category. As such, these programs were not vetted for producer eligibility this year but winners in these categories will be announced at the official ceremony on January 21st:

  • Anderson Cooper 360° (CNN)
  • BBC World News America (BBC)
  • NBC Nightly News with Brian Williams (NBC)
  • The Rachel Maddow Show (MSNBC)
  • Monday Night Football (ESPN)
  • Real Sports with Bryant Gumbel (HBO)
  • SportsCenter (ESPN)
  • 30 for 30 (ESPN)
  • 2010 FIFA World Cup (ABC / ESPN / ESPN2)
  • Ask a Ninja (
  • The Guild (
  • Parks and Recreation: April & Andy's Road Trip (
  • 30 Rock: Jack Donaghy, Executive Superhero (