American Cinema Editors (ACE) today announced nominations for the 62nd Annual ACE Eddie Awards recognizing outstanding editing in nine categories of film, television and documentaries. Winners will be revealed during ACE's 62nd annual black-tie awards ceremony on Saturday, February 18, 2012 in the International Ballroom of the Beverly Hilton Hotel. As previously announced, the ceremony will be hosted by actor/comedian Patton Oswalt. Later this month ACE will announce the Golden Eddie Filmmaker of the Year honoree and two Career Achievement honorees.

Nominees for 62nd Annual ACE Eddie Awards

RELATED: Lisbeth Salander TV Show Will Bring The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo to Amazon
  • Anthony Bourdain: No Reservations: Haiti - Eric Lasby
  • - Beyond Scared Straight: Chowchilla - Rob Goubeaux, A.C.E., Paul J. Coyne, A.C.E., Heather Abell, Audrey Capotosta, Maura Corey, Jeremy Gantz & Molly Shock
  • - Whale Wars: Race to Save Lives - Eric Myerson, Pete Ritchie & Josh Crockett

Final Ballots will be mailed on January 23 and voting ends on February 9. The Blue Ribbon panels where judging for all television categories and the documentary film category take place January 29. Projects in the aforementioned categories are viewed and judged by panels comprised of professional editors (all ACE members). All 600+ ACE members vote during the final balloting of the ACE Eddies, including active members, life members, affiliate members and honorary members.

The ACE Eddie Awards is considered an integral precursor to the Oscars. No film has won Best Picture at the Oscars without also having received at least a Best Editing nomination since Ordinary People in 1981. Since the ACE membership boasts a very high crossover within its membership of Academy members, it is considered a very accurate bellwether for the eventual Oscar outcome.