Don Hall, a longtime sound editor who has worked on more than 90 feature films, has been voted the John A. Bonner Medal of Commendation by the Board of Governors of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

The Bonner medallion will be presented at the Scientific and Technical Awards Dinner on Saturday, February 18, at The Beverly Hilton.

"Don has been ubiquitous around the Academy at anything relating to technology…and especially to the art and science of motion picture sound �" serving on the board of governors, hosting public programs, attending committee meetings of all sorts and personally supporting the Academy Foundation's many programs," said Academy President Sid Ganis.

Hall has been an active member of the Academy since 1964. He was elected to the Board of Governors in 1981 and has served four three-year terms since then. Hall has served for many years as a member of both the Sound Branch and the Scientific and Technical Awards Committees. He has been the chair of the Sound Editing Awards Rules Committee, and is the current chair of the Student Academy Awards Executive Committee.

In a career spanning five decades, Hall has worked on such films as "The Bridge on the River Kwai," The French Connection, "Young Frankenstein" and A Walk in the Clouds. Hall headed the sound editing departments at 20th Century-Fox Studios, Walt Disney Studios, Quinn-Martin Productions and Spelling Goldberg Productions before establishing Don Hall Productions, an independent sound editing company.

Currently a senior lecturer at the University of Southern California School of Cinema and Television, Hall is a member of the Motion Picture Film Editors Guild, the Motion Picture Sound Editors and the Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers.

Named in honor of the late director of special projects at Warner Hollywood Studios, the John A. Bonner Medal is awarded for "outstanding service and dedication in upholding the high standards of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences."

Segments of the Scientific and Technical Awards presentation will be broadcast during the 78th Academy Awards.

Academy Awards for outstanding film achievements for 2005 will be presented on March 5, 2006, at the Kodak Theatre at Hollywood & Highland, and televised live by the ABC Television Network beginning at 5 p.m. PST.