Haim Saban, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Saban Capital Group, Inc., announced today that Saban Films is closing in on a deal to acquire the U.S. distribution rights to Sarik Andreasyan action-thriller American Heist, starring Hayden Christensen, Academy Award Winner Adrien Brody, Jordana Brewster, Tory Kittles and Aliaune Badara Akon Thiam. The film had its world premiere last night at the Toronto International Film Festival.

Saban Films is emerging as an aggressive buyer in Toronto, acquiring the U.S. rights to John Travolta's The Forger and the action-thriller Tracers, starring Taylor Lautner and Marie Avgeropoulos from Temple Hill Entertainment.

Here's what Saban Films president Bill Bromiley had to say in a statement.

"We were eager to see American Heist coming into Toronto and the film lived up to our expectations. It's just the type of commercial talent driven film we are looking for at Saban."

Glacier Films' Tove Christensen also released the following statement.

"Sarik pulled together a very exhilarating and commercial film with a brilliant ensemble cast. We are excited to be in business with Saban Films and make a deal in our hometown of Toronto."

Written by Raul Inglis, American Heist follows two brothers with troubled pasts who become embroiled in a high-stakes bank robbery. Ness Saban negotiated on behalf of Saban Films and Ben Weiss at Paradigm on behalf of the producers. Voltage is handling international sales.

RELATED: American Heist Trailer Starring Adrien Brody & Hayden Christensen

Saban Films is the new venture, which is headed by President Bill Bromiley, and launched just prior to Cannes where they acquired The Homesman, starring Academy Award winners Tommy Lee Jones and Hilary Swank. The film had its world premiere in competition at the 2014 Cannes Film Festival, and Saban Films will release stateside with Roadside Attractions on November 14th.

American Heist is a Glacier Films production in association with Maple Leaf Capital, Primeridian Entertainment and NGN Productions. The film is produced by Glacier's Tove Christensen, Georgy Malkov, Sarik Andreasyan, Gevond Andreasyan and Vladimir Poliakov. Executive producers include Michael Wexler, George Castrounis, Hayden Christensen, Adrien Brody, Aliaune Badara Akon Thiam, JoJo Ryder, Arcadiy Golubovich, George Castrounis and Joseph Nasser.