The long-gestating remake of The Blob is starting to come together quite nicely. Shortly after confirming Simon West as the director, Pascal Degove, Managing Director of Goldcrest Films have announced today that Samuel L. Jackson will headline the cast of this sci-fi thriller, a remake of the 1958 sci-fi classic about a killer alien that oozes it's way through a small town. The Blob shoots this fall with more casting announcements sure to follow shortly.

Samuel L. Jackson is playing a biochemistry professor attempting to thwart the other-worldly predator discovered deep within the earth. Richard Saperstein and Brian Witten will produce alongside Jack Harris, the 96-year-old producer of the original 1958 The Blob, Judith Parker Harris, and Taewon Chung. Goldcrest Films, representing global sales and distribution, launched the film to distributors at the EFM earlier this year to plenty of buzz and has already secured deals in Germany, Italy, China, Latin America, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Taiwan, Thailand, India, Middle East and South Africa.

RELATED: The Blob Remake Is Caught in a Battle Over Franchise Rights

Goldcrest Post (home to Todd Haynes' Carol) will be providing picture and sound post production services and visual effects under supervisor Chris Haney (Avatar, The Avengers). Says director Simon West about his new leading man:

"I have been waiting to work with Samuel L. Jackson my whole career. He is a unique talent in the industry, definitely one of a kind. I am so pleased that we will finally get to collaborate on this project."

Pascal Degove, Managing Director of Goldcrest Films, continues:

"Samuel L. Jackson has a reputation for thrilling audiences in commercial movies that deliver real box office success - this is a huge boost to our distribution partners and just adds to the excitement that is building around the picture."

Shara Kay and Laurence Freed will Executive Produce for Elysium Films; Pascal Degove and Nick Quested for Goldcrest; and Ju Young You for A-List Corporation. Michael Roban, Michael Harpster, Kyu C. Lee, Armen Aghaeian, Edward Mokhtarian, Geno Tazioli, Holly Kobzina and Paul Harris Boardman are also Executive Producers.