On June 2nd Peaceful Warrior debuted in theaters and on June 13, Lakeshore Records released the soundtrack. To celebrate, we are giving away copies of this highly inspiring audio soundtrack!

CLICK HERE to enter our contest!


RELATED: Win Stephen King's The Stand on Blu-ray Signed by Director Mick Garris!

Lakeshore Records will release the Peaceful Warrior movie soundtrack on June 13, 2006. The Lionsgate film is based on Way of the Peaceful Warrior by Dan Millman, a moving tale about the power of the human spirit. The soundtrack intersperses Millman's writings with similarly-themed uplifting songs to highlight the approach of a peaceful warrior. In the spirit of Millman's teachings, Lakeshore Records will donate a portion of the proceeds to MusicCares. Author Dan Millman has written eleven books which "provide a new and different facet of a peaceful warrior's approach to living wisely and well. In a sense, each book is another piece of the puzzle of personal and spiritual growth," according to Millman.

The film stars Scott Mechlowicz as Dan Millman, a talented college gymnast with Olympic dreams. He has it all: trophies, teammates, fast motorcycles, fast girls and wild parties. Then Dan's world is turned upside down when he meets a mysterious stranger he calls Socrates (Nick Nolte), who holds the power to tap into new worlds of strength and understanding. After a serious injury, with the help of Socrates and an elusive young woman named Joy (Amy Smart), Dan discovers that he has much to learn and even more to leave behind before he can become a peaceful warrior and find his destiny.

The real-life Dan Millman is a former world champion athlete, university coach, martial arts instructor, and college professor. His books, including The Journeys of Socrates, Way of the Peaceful Warrior, and The Life You Were Born to Live have inspired millions of readers in 29 languages. Dan's keynotes, seminars, and trainings have influenced people from all walks of life and all ages, including leaders in the fields of health, psychology, education, business, politics, sports, entertainment, and the arts.

Bob Strauss, from The Los Angeles Daily News, says "this highly fictionalized account of an injured gymnast's spiritual journey speaks a lot of Eastern wisdom in a Western pop vernacular."

The Lakeshore Records soundtrack blends Millman's Eastern wisdom in a Western pop music vernacular. The tracks on the CD alternate between affirmations read by Millman and uplifting songs by top artists including a previously unreleased track by David Gray and rare or hard to find cuts by artists including Academy Award™-nominated Bird York ("In the Deep" from Crash), Centro-Matic, John Ralston, Shearwater, Great Lake Swimmers, Joseph Arthur and rock legend Jon Anderson.

A portion of the proceeds from sales of the Peaceful Warrior - Original Motion Picture Soundtrack goes to MusicCares, an organization which provides a safety net of critical assistance for music people in times of need. MusicCares also focuses the resources and attention of the music industry on human service issues that directly impact the health and welfare of the music community.

Lionsgate presents Peaceful Warrior, released in select cities on June 2 and expanding theatrically throughout the summer. The original soundtrack, on Lakeshore Records, will be in stores on June 13, 2006.

Track Listing:

1. Way of the Peaceful Warrior

2. Long Gone Now - David Gray

3. Simple Perfection

4. Had a Dream - Bird York

5. Surrender Control Accept

6. Blue in the Sky - Joe Purdy

7. Mind is Not Present

8. I Will Be Waiting - Kelly Sweet

9. Adversity and Choice

10. In Such Crooked Time - Centro-Matic

11. Asleep Your Whole Life

12. I'm There Too - Michelle Featherstone

13. Be Happy NOW

14. Answering Our Prayers - Dropping Daylight

15. Being Human

16. The Only Evidence - John Ralston

17. Breathing

18. Bodies and Minds - Great Lake Swimmers

19. Change

20. Johnny Viola - Shearwater

21. Constructive Action

22. Sensing Owls - Jose Gonzalez

23. Emotions are Like Weather

24. Even Tho - Joseph Arthur

25. Unreasonable Happiness

26. Everybody - Raul Midon

27. You Suffer

28. Under The Sun - Jon Anderson

29. Life is Not a Private Affair

(odd numbered tracks are readings by Dan Millman)