Fox is announcing premiere dates of new and returning series as well as revisions to its 2009-2010 midseason schedule. Fox also has ordered a full season of the sophomore drama Lie to Me.

January starts off on a high note when the ninth season of American Idol, television's No. 1 series, begins with a two-night premiere Tuesday, Jan. 12 (8:00-10:00 PM ET/PT) and Wednesday, Jan. 13 (8:00-9:00 PM ET/PT). Immediately following American Idol on Jan. 13 (9:00-10:00 PM ET/PT), Fox unveils the not-to-be-missed series debut of Our Little Genius, a new unscripted series that features America's most gifted kids as they are tested with some of the most challenging and difficult questions that only a remarkable little genius could answer.

A special extended primetime event on Sunday, Jan. 17 kicks off with the NFC Divisional Playoff (4:00 PM-CC ET live/1:00 PM-CC PT live), which leads into the explosive series preview of Human Target (8:00-9:00 PM ET/PT), the new full-throttle, action-packed drama about a unique private contractor (Mark Valley) who will stop at nothing - even if it means becoming a human target - to save his clients. The special primetime event concludes with the first installment of the pulse-pounding two-night, four-hour premiere of 24 (9:00-11:00 PM ET/PT). The season premiere of 24 clocks in for two more hours of action Monday, Jan. 18 (8:00-10:00 PM ET/PT), and the season premiere of Human Target airs Wednesday, Jan. 20 (9:00-10:00 PM ET/PT) following American Idol (8:00-9:00 PM ET/PT).

On Sunday, Jan. 10, FOX presents a special The Simpsons event beginning with the animated series' milestone 450th episode, "Once Upon a Time in Springfield" (8:00-8:30 PM ET/PT), in which Bart (Nancy Cartwright) and Milhouse (Pamela Hayden) try to help Krusty (Dan Castellaneta) regain his popularity after network executives force him to restructure the format of his television show by hiring a female sidekick, Princess Penelope (guest voice Anne Hathaway). Then, Academy Award-nominated filmmaker Morgan Spurlock (Super Size Me, 30 Days) will present The Simpsons 20th Anniversary Special: In 3-D! On Ice! (8:30-9:30 PM ET/PT). The documentary special examines the global phenomenon that is The Simpsons and serves as the momentous conclusion to the "Best. 20 Years. Ever.," a year-long global celebration of The Simpsons that launched in January 2009.

Chef Gordon Ramsay steps out of his own kitchen to serve up a new season of Kitchen Nightmares on Friday, Jan. 29 (9:00-10:00 PM ET/PT). Each week, Chef Ramsay will try to help turn around some of the most unsanitary and unsuccessful restaurants in New York, New Jersey, Florida and California on the verge of closing their doors forever.

Past Life, a new drama series inspired by the book "The Reincarnationist" about detectives who investigate the world of the unexplained, will bow with a two-hour series premiere Thursday, Feb. 11 (8:00-10:00 PM ET/PT) and will make its time period premiere Thursday, Feb. 18 (9:00-10:00 PM ET/PT).

Sons of Tuscon, the new family comedy from Emmy Award winner Todd Holland (Wonderfalls) about three young brothers who hire a charming, wayward schemer to stand in as their father when their real one goes to prison, debuts Sunday, March 14 (8:30-9:00 PM ET/PT).

American Idol sings on Tuesdays (8:00-9:00 PM ET/PT) when it makes its time period premiere Jan. 19 followed by the time period premiere of Our Little Genius (9:00-10:00 PM ET/PT), and 24 syncs up for its time period premiere Monday, Jan. 25 (9:00-10:00 PM ET/PT).

After its fall finale Wednesday, Dec. 9 (9:00-10:00 PM ET/PT), Glee returns from its interlude with a score of all-new episodes on a new night beginning Tuesday, April 13 (9:00-10:00 PM ET/PT). Fringe delves into its winter finale Thursday, Feb. 4 (9:00-10:00 PM ET/PT) and then resurfaces with new cases beginning Thursday, April 1 (9:00-10:00 PM ET/PT). Joss Whedon's Dollhouse goes out with a bang with its series finale Friday, Jan. 22 (9:00-10:00 PM ET/PT).


(All times ET/PT except as noted)


Monday, Jan. 4:

7:30 PM-CC ET - Tostitos Fiesta Bowl (Live)

Monday, Jan. 18:

8:00-10:00 PM - 24 (2-Night / 4-Hour Season Premiere, Part 2)

Mondays, beginning Jan. 25:

8:00-9:00 PM - House

9:00-10:00 PM - 24 (Time Period Premiere)



Tuesday, Jan. 5:

7:30 PM-CC ET - FedEx Orange Bowl (Live)

Tuesday, Jan. 12:

8:00-10:00 PM - American Idol (Season Premiere, Part 1)

Tuesdays, beginning Jan. 19:

8:00-9:00 PM - American Idol (Time Period Premiere)

9:00-10:00 PM - Our Little Genius (Time Period Premiere)

Tuesdays, beginning April 13:

8:00-9:00 PM - American Idol

9:00-10:00 PM - Glee (Time Period Premiere)



Wednesday, Jan. 13:

8:00-9:00 PM - American Idol (Season Premiere, Part 2)

9:00-10:00 PM - Our Little Genius (Series Premiere)

Wednesdays, beginning Jan. 20:

8:00-9:00 PM - American Idol

9:00-10:00 PM - Human Target (Series Premiere)



Thursdays, beginning Jan. 14 (no change to lineup):

8:00-9:00 PM - Bones (All-New Episodes)

9:00-10:00 PM - Fringe (All-New Episodes)

Thursday, Feb. 4:

8:00-9:00 PM - Bones

9:00-10:00 PM - Fringe (Winter Finale)

Thursday, Feb. 11:

8:00-10:00 PM - Past Life (Two-Hour Series Premiere)

Thursdays, beginning Feb. 18:

8:00-9:00 PM - Bones

9:00-10:00 PM - Past Life (Time Period Premiere)

Thursdays, beginning April 1:

8:00-9:00 PM - Bones

9:00-10:00 PM - Fringe (Time Period Premiere)



Friday, Jan. 1:

8:00 PM-CC ET - Allstate Sugar Bowl (Live)

Fridays, beginning Jan. 8:

8:00-9:00 PM - Bones (Encore Episodes)

9:00-10:00 PM - Dollhouse (All-New Episodes)

Friday, Jan. 22:

8:00-9:00 PM - Bones (Encore Episode)

9:00-10:00 PM - Dollhouse (Series Finale)

Fridays, beginning Jan. 29:

8:00-9:00 PM - House (Encore Episodes)

9:00-10:00 PM - Kitchen Nightmares (Season Premiere)



Saturdays (no change to lineup):

8:00-8:30 PM - Cops

8:30-9:00 PM - Cops

9:00-10:00 PM - America's Most Wanted

11:00 PM-Midnight - The Wanda Sykes Show

Midnight-12:30 AM - Sit Down, Shut Up



Sunday, Jan. 10:

8:00-8:30 PM - The Simpsons (450th Milestone Episode)

8:30-9:30 PM - The Simpsons 20th Anniversary Special: In 3-D! On Ice!

9:30-10:00 PM - The Cleveland Show

Sunday, Jan. 17:

4:00 PM-CC ET - NFC Divisional Playoff (Live)

8:00-9:00 PM - Human Target (Series Preview)

9:00-11:00 PM - 24 (2-Night/4-Hour Season Premiere, Part 1)

Sunday, Jan. 24:

6:00 PM-CC ET - NFC Championship Game (Live)

Sundays, beginning Jan. 31 (no change to lineup):

8:00-8:30 PM - The Simpsons (All-New Episodes)

8:30-9:00 PM - The Cleveland Show(All-New Episodes)

9:00-9:30 PM - Family Guy (All-New Episodes)

9:30-10:00 PM - American Dad! (All-New Episodes)

Sunday, March 14:

8:00-8:30 PM - The Simpsons

8:30-9:00 PM - Sons of Tuscon (Series Premiere)

9:00-9:30 PM - Family Guy

9:30-10:00 PM - The Cleveland Show (Time Period Premiere)

[EDITOR'S NOTE 1: Lie to Me will return to the schedule in the late spring, and 'Til Death will return to the schedule at a later date.]

[EDITOR'S NOTE 2: The Cleveland Show takes over the timeslot previously held by American Dad!, which will return to the schedule at a later date.]

[EDITOR'S NOTE 3: The Simpsons milestone 450th episode and The Simpsons 20th Anniversary Special: In 3-D! On Ice! special, which were previously announced to air Thursday, Jan. 14, are now scheduled for Sunday, Jan. 10.]