Production has commenced on location in Hawaii, the United Kingdom and Los Angeles on Walt Disney Pictures' and Jerry Bruckheimer Films' sweeping comedy adventure Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides, directed by Rob Marshall (Chicago), the fourth entry in the blockbuster franchise which has already reaped $2.7 billion in worldwide box office from the previous three films, and the first to be filmed and presented in Disney Digital 3D(TM). Johnny Depp returns to his iconic, Academy Award-nominated role of Captain Jack Sparrow, newly joined by Academy Award winner Penélope Cruz (Vicky Cristina Barcelona, Rob Marshall's "Nine"), Ian McShane (HBO's Deadwood) and newcomers Astrid Berges-Frisbey and Sam Claflin. Also rejoining Johnny Depp and Captain Jack are Academy Award-winner and three-time nominee Geoffrey Rush (Shakespeare in Love) and Kevin McNally (first three Pirates of the Caribbean films, Valkyrie). The film is slated to open May 20, 2011.

Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides captures the fun, adventure and humor that ignited the hit franchise --this time in Disney Digital 3D. In this action-packed tale of truth, betrayal, youth and demise, Captain Jack Sparrow crosses paths with a woman from his past (Penélope Cruz), and he's not sure if it's love--or if she's a ruthless con artist who's using him to find the fabled Fountain of Youth. When she forces him aboard the Queen Anne's Revenge, the ship of the formidable pirate Blackbeard (Ian McShane), Jack finds himself on an unexpected adventure in which he doesn't know who to fear more: Blackbeard or the woman from his past.

RELATED: Johnny Depp Doesn't Miss the Pirates Franchise: I Travel with Captain Jack in My Suitcase

Rush reprises his role as the vengeful Captain Hector Barbossa, and Kevin McNally returns as Captain Jack's longtime comrade Joshamee Gibbs. Claflin stars as a stalwart missionary, while Berges-Frisbey is transformed into a mysterious mermaid.

Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides is written by Pirates veterans Ted Elliott & Terry Rossio. The executive producers are Mike Stenson, Chad Oman, Barry H. Waldman, Ted Elliott, Terry Rossio and John M. Deluca.

Joining Bruckheimer and Marshall for the new voyage is a top-flight group of award-winning behind-the-scenes artists, including director of photography Dariusz Wolski (first three Pirates of the Caribbean movies, Tim Burton's Alice in Wonderland), production designer John Myhre (two-time Academy Award winner for Marshall's Chicago and Memoirs of a Geisha), costume designer Penny Rose (all three Pirates of the Caribbean films, Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time), visual effects supervisor Charles Gibson, who won an Academy Award for Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest, Oscar winner and eight-time nominee special effects supervisor John Frazier (Pirates of the Caribbean films, Pearl Harbor) and stunt coordinator George Marshall Ruge, who also devoted his talents to the previous three Pirates films as well as Disney and Jerry Bruckheimer's National Treasure franchise. The editors include two Oscar winners, Michael Kahn (Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time) and David Brenner (

Born on the Fourth of July), as well as {no_person|Wyatt Smith (Marshall's Nine).

Rob Marshall's first three films, Chicago, Memoirs of a Geisha and Nine, have been honored with a total of 23 Academy Award nominations. For his work on Chicago winner of six Oscars including Best Picture, Marshall received the Director's Guild Award, an Oscar nomination, a Golden Globe Award(R) nomination, a BAFTA nomination The National Board of Review Award and the New York Film Critics Online Award. A six-time Tony Award(R) nominee and George Abbott Award winner, Marshall's extensive work on Broadway includes co-director and choreographer of the worldwide award-winning production of "Cabaret" and director/choreographer of the Broadway revival of "Little Me," along with many others. He also produced, directed and choreographed the NBC television special "Tony Bennett: An American Classic," which earned seven Emmy Awards(R), including three for Marshall, and directed and choreographed Disney/ABC's critically acclaimed movie musical "Annie," which received 12 Emmy nominations with two wins, including Marshall for Outstanding Choreography; it also won the prestigious Peabody Award.

First in partnership with Don Simpson, and then as the chief of Jerry Bruckheimer Films, Bruckheimer has produced an unprecedented string of worldwide smashes, impacting not only the industry, but mass culture as well. Bruckheimer's films include (producing with Don Simpson) Top Gun, Beverly Hills Cop, Beverly Hills Cop 2, American Gigolo, Flashdance, Bad Boys, Dangerous Minds, Crimson Tide, The Rock and (producing solo) Con Air, Armageddon, Enemy of the State, Gone in Sixty Seconds, Coyote Ugly, Remember the Titans, Pearl Harbor, Black Hawk Down, Pirates of The Caribbean: The Curse of The Black Pearl, Bad Boys II, Veronica Guerin, King Arthur, National Treasure, Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest, Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End, "National Treasure: Book of Secrets, " G-Force, Confessions of a Shopaholic, Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time and The Sorcerer's Apprentice.

On television, Bruckheimer had an unprecedented 10 television series airing in the 2005-6 season, a record in the medium for an individual producer. JBTV's series have included CSI: Crime Scene Investigation and its spinoffs CSI: Miami, CSI: NY and Without a Trace, Cold Case, The Amazing Race and Dark Blue.

Jerry Bruckheimer Films and Television have been honored with 41 Academy Award nominations, six wins, eight Grammy Award nominations, five wins, 23 Golden Globe nominations, four wins, 88 Emmy Award nominations, 18 wins, 23 People's Choice nominations, 15 wins, numerous MTV Awards, including one for Best Picture of the Decade for "Beverly Hills Cop" and 20 Teen Choice Awards.

Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides will film on the islands of Kauai and Oahu, Hawaii, followed by locations and studio work in the United Kingdom and Los Angeles.