Mondo, the collectible art division of Alamo Drafthouse Cinema, is excited to announce the release of Jerry Goldsmith's Poltergeist score on limited edition vinyl. Combining a love for film music and beautiful artistic renderings, Mondo commissioned original cover art from We Buy YourKids, the duo of Australian illustrators Sonny Day and Biddy Maroney. Poltergeist 2-disc vinyl will be available for purchase for $25 on February 22 via and will include a small portion of randomly inserted clear vinyl copies. The full track list appears at the bottom and includes 5 tracks never before released on vinyl.

Poltergiest Album Photo 1
Poltergiest Album Photo 2
Poltergiest Album Photo 3
RELATED: James Karen, Poltergeist & Return of the Living Dead Actor, Dies at 94
Poltergiest Album Photo 4

The Poltergeist vinyl soundtrack release continues Mondo's commitment to crafting beautiful packaging for scores they love and adds to an eclectic collection that now includes The Beyond, Deadly Spawn, Maniac and the upcoming vinyl release for Drive. Much more is on the horizon for 2013.

Jerry Goldsmith 's soundtrack for Steven Spielberg's Poltergeist, directed by Tobe Hooper, formed a significant part of the 1982 film's conceptual strength. Known for the intensity of his thematic exposition, Jerry Goldsmith designs the Poltergeist soundtrack to elaborately ground the film between the promise of suburban repose and the malevolent unknown. Beginning in innocence with a classic rendition of the "Star-Spangled Banner," the soundtrack parallels the film's intrusion of angry ghosts into the California home of the film's protagonists with dreadful strings and eerie keys. Jerry Goldsmith then switches to airier strings and an ethereal flute to denote the family's fumbling after their daughter, Carol Anne, is abducted. Utilizing frenzied horn blasts and a sudden lapse into atonalism, the composer ominously signifies the emergence of the Beast. Jerry Goldsmith, seemingly effortless, concludes the frantic drama of "Escape From Suburbia" in stark contrast with the sweet and child-like tones of "Carol Anne's Theme," elegantly illustrating the dignity and range that his orchestral scores for horror modeled within the genre.

Mondo previously collaborated with We Buy Your Kids for a gallery show, "Tina's Mom's Boyfriend," in November. We Buy Your Kids began working together in 2006, creating screen-printed posters for local concerts. Since then, their client list has expanded to include film, print, huge corporations, and galleries. Often making art that the squares think is weird, they are the perfect collaborator for the Poltergeist soundtrack artwork.

For the exact sale time on February 22 follow @MondoNews on Twitter. Full track list below, including 5 tracks (#1, #3, #4, #6 and #9) that appear on vinyl for the first time.

  • 1) The Star Spangled Banner
  • 2) The Calling / The Neighborhood (Main Title)
  • 3) The Tree (Outtake)
  • 4) The Clown / They're Here / Broken Glass / The Hole / TV People
  • 5) Twisted Abduction
  • 6) Contacting The Other Side
  • 7) The Light
  • 8) Night Visitor / No Complaints
  • 9) ItKnows What Scares You
  • 10) Rebirth
  • 11) Night Of The Beast
  • 12) Escape From Suburbia
  • 13) Carol Anne's Theme (End Title)

B. Alan Orange at Movieweb
B. Alan Orange