Paramount Pictures Rango took top honors as the Best Animated Feature at the 39th Annual Annie Awards, Saturday, February 4, at UCLA's Royce Hall. With the expanded list of categories from 25 to 28, and the addition of two new categories - Editing and Best Animated Special Production - this year's show honored more nominees than in the past. The newly created 'Member's Favorite' award voted on by the entire ASIFA-Hollywood community also went to Rango.

Newcomer Minkyu Lee's Adam and Dog won for Best Short Subject while Psyop's Twinings Sea was selected Best Television Commercial. The Simpsons took Best Animated TV Production and Shadow Planet Production's Insanely Twisted was selected as Best Video Game.

'This was a great evening, with a lot of fun and surprises," said ASIFA-Hollywood President Frank Gladstone. "Annies went to a huge variety of individuals and studios. This goes directly to ASIFA-Hollywood's vision of celebrating the best in animation across project, studio and geographic boundaries."

RELATED: Portland Unveils Ned Flanders Crossing in Honor of The Simpsons

Actor and comedian Patton Oswalt's hosting duties kept the show moving at a lively pace. He was joined on stage by animation luminaries, celebrity presenters and comedic talent including animation legend June Foray, J.K. Simmons, Judy Greer, Zachary Levi, Peter Baynham, Mace Neufeld, 'Weird Al' Yankovic, Bruce Boxleitner, Ahmed Best, Kathleen Kennedy, Frank Marshall, Jim Cummings, Phil LaMarr, Diedrich Bader, Daran Norris, Tara Strong, Kelly Stables, Dee Bradley Baker, Nika Futterman, Ariel Winter, Logan Grove, James Hong, Brian Posehn, Greg & Evan Spiridellis and Jim Meskimen (Jib Jab), Bridgit Mendler, Brittany Snow, Jason Marsden and Joe Letteri.

Honored with the Winsor McCay award were Walt Peregoy, Borge Ring and the late Ronald Searle. The Winsor McCay Award stands as one of the highest honors given to an individual in the animation industry in recognition for career contributions to the art of animation. Art Leonardi was honored with the June Foray award which is presented to an individual who has given significant and benevolent contributions to the art and industry of animation.

39th Annual Annie Awards Winners

  • Walt Peregoy
  • Borge Ring
  • Ronald Searle