AMC has canceled its new series Rubicon after just one season on the air. Here's a statement that the network released regarding the cancellation:

"Rubicon gave us an opportunity to tell a rich and compelling story, and we're proud of the series. This was not an easy decision, but we are grateful to have had the opportunity to work with such a phenomenally talented and dedicated team."

Rubicon starred James Badge Dale, Dallas Roberts, Christopher Evan Welch, Lauren Hodges, Arliss Howard, Jessica Collins, Miranda Richardson and Michael Cristofer.

The series is set inside American Policy Institute, a government think-tank where James Badge Dale's character, Will Travers, begins to unravel a conspiracy that becomes bigger than he ever imagined.

The 13-episode first season premiered on August 1 and the finale aired on October 17.