The awards season is here! Traditionally, the first major film awards of the year to be announced are the National Board of Review winners, and Variety has released this year's winners, with Danny Boyle's Slumdog Millionaire taking home the top honors as the Best Film of the Year. The film also picked up two other awards for Best Adapated Screenplay for Simon Beaufoy, based off Vikas Swarup's novel, and also for Breakthrough Performance of the Year for lead actor Dev Patel.

Other films taking home multiple awards were Gran Torino, with Clint Eastwood winning Best Actor and Nick Schenk winning Best Original Screenplay, and The Curious Case of Benjamin Button winning for David Fincher's direction and Eric Roth's adapted screenplay, sharing the award with Slumdog Millionaire.

Take a look at the full list of winners below

2008 National Board of Review Winners

Film:Slumdog Millionaire

Director: David Fincher, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button

Actor: Clint Eastwood, Gran Torino

Actress: Anne Hathaway, Rachel Getting Married

Supporting Actor: Josh Brolin, Milk

Supporting Actress: Penelope Cruz, Vicky Cristina Barcelona

Foreign Language Film: Mongol

Documentary: Man on Wire

Animated Feature: WALL-E

Ensemble Cast: Doubt

Breakthrough Performance by an Actor: Dev Patel, Slumdog Millionaire

Breakthrough Performance by an Actress: Viola Davis, Doubt

Directorial Debut: Courtney Hunt, Frozen River

Original Screenplay: Nick Schenk, Gran Torino

Adapted Screenplay: Simon Beaufoy, Slumdog Millionaire and Eric Roth, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button

Spotlight Award: Melissa Leo, Frozen River and Richard Jenkins, The Visitor

The BVLGARI Award for NBR Freedom of Expression: Trumbo


Burn After Reading


The Curious Case of Benjamin Button

The Dark Knight



Gran Torino



The Wrestler