As twilight descends upon The Greek Theatre, Spike TV presents Scream 2009, an evening where galaxies collide and genres unite for the ultimate celebration of all things sci-fi, fantasy, horror and comic book. The 4th annual Scream Awards is the first and only global event of its kind to honor and celebrate the hottest films, TV shows, comics, actors, creators, icons and pioneers who have influenced and shaped these genres. Scream 2009 will tape on Saturday, October 17 in Los Angeles, CA. The two-hour extravaganza will premiere on Spike TV on Tuesday, October 27 (10:00 PM-Midnight, ET/PT).

Spike TV is proud to partner once again with Comic-Con International, the biggest comic book and pop culture convention in the world, to present real-life super hero Stan Lee with the Comic-Con Icon Award at Scream 2009. Lee is the creator of such legendary super-heroes as Spider-Man, The Fantastic Four, X-Men, Iron Man and The Hulk. Spider-Man's Tobey Maguire will lead the tribute to one of the most beloved and influential comic book legends of all time.

Scream 2009 will also honor the godfather of the modern horror film, George Romero with this year's Scream Mastermind Award. This award is presented to a filmmaker whose unique vision of horror, science fiction and/or fantasy is both critically-acclaimed and culturally significant. Romero, best known for his gruesome and satirical zombie masterpiece Night of the Living Dead and its sequel Dawn Of The Dead as well as the cult classic, Creepshow will receive the honor previously presented to cinematic luminaries Wes Craven, Quentin Tarantino and Robert Rodriguez.

Scream 2009 will celebrate the year of the vampire and the phenomenal popularity of the Twilight saga with cast and World Premiere footage from the highly-anticipated The Twilight Saga's New Moon In addition, fans will be treated to appearances from the cast and creators of True Blood including Alan Ball, Stephen Moyer, Anna Paquin, Alexander Skarsgård, Sam Trammell, among others. The celebration continues with a Battlestar Galactica cast reunion for a farewell tribute featuring Edward James Olmos, Tricia Helfer, Grace Park, James Callis, Kate Vernon, Katee Sackhoff, Michael Trucco Tahmoh Penikett and executive producer David Eick.

Scream 2009 will present awards in 16 different categories. J.J. Abrams' sci-fi action-adventure Star Trek tops the Scream 2009 list with 17 nominations including the categories of The Ultimate Scream, Best Science Fiction Movie, Best Director, Best Ensemble, Holy Sh*t Scene-of-the-Year and a nod in the all-new Fight Scene-of-the-Year category. Comic book-inspired blockbusters X-Men Origins: Wolverine and Watchmen each nabbed 13 nominations, big screen adaptation of Stephenie Meyer's best selling novel Twilight received 10 nominations, while HBO's vampire-themed television series True Blood garnered nine nominations. Fans can log onto until Saturday, October 17 to vote for their favorites.