The Weinstein Company (TWC) announced today that an incredible list of top acting talent has come on board to star in Academy Award winning writer/director Quentin Tarantino's upcoming post-Civil War western, The Hateful Eight.

The Hateful Eight are: Academy Award nominee Samuel L. Jackson as Major Marquis Warren, Golden Globe nominee Kurt Russell as John "The Hangman" Ruth, Golden Globe nominee Jennifer Jason Leigh as Daisy Domergue, Emmy nominee Walton Goggins as Chris Mannix, Academy Award nominee Demián Bichir as Bob, Academy Award nominee Tim Roth as Oswaldo Mobray, Michael Madsen as Joe Gage and Academy Award nominee Bruce Dern General Sanford Smithers.

Also, Channing Tatum has signed on for a role in the project.

RELATED: The Hateful Eight Interview with Demian Bichir | EXCLUSIVE

This will be Jennifer Jason Leigh, Demián Bichir and Channing Tatum's first film with Tarantino, while the rest of the cast has worked with him in the past. The Hateful Eight is the eighth feature for the filmmaker, whose last film Django Unchained earned him an Oscar for Best Original Screenplay and grossed over $425 million worldwide.

In The Hateful Eight, set six or eight or twelve years after the Civil War, a stagecoach hurtles through the wintry Wyoming landscape. The passengers, bounty hunter John Ruth (Kurt Russell) and his fugitive Daisy Domergue (Jennifer Jason Leigh), race towards the town of Red Rock where Ruth, known in these parts as "The Hangman," will bring Domergue to justice. Along the road, they encounter two strangers: Major Marquis Warren (Samuel L. Jackson), a black former union soldier turned infamous bounty hunter, and Chris Mannix (Walton Goggins), a southern renegade who claims to be the town's new Sheriff. Losing their lead on the blizzard, Ruth, Domergue, Warren and Mannix seek refuge at Minnie's Haberdashery, a stagecoach stopover on a mountain pass. When they arrive at Minnie's, they are greeted not by the proprietor but by four unfamiliar faces. Bob (Demián Bichir), who's taking care of Minnie's while she's visiting her mother, is holed up with Oswaldo Mobray (Tim Roth), the hangman of Red Rock, cow-puncher Joe Gage (Michael Madsen), and Confederate General Sanford Smithers (Bruce Dern). As the storm overtakes the mountainside stopover, our eight travelers come to learn they may not make it to Red Rock after all...

Written and directed by Quentin Tarantino, The Hateful Eight is produced by long-time Tarantino collaborators Richard N. Gladstein, Stacey Sher and Shannon McIntosh. Harvey Weinstein, Bob Weinstein and G. Mac Brown are The Hateful Eight's executive producers, and Coco Francini and William Paul Clark are associate producers.

Presented in glorious 70mm, The Hateful Eight will be released by TWC in 2015. The film marks a continuation of the long-standing relationship between the celebrated filmmaker and the Weinsteins, who have collaborated on all of Tarantino's films, from Reservoir Dogs through Django Unchained.

Commented Bob and Harvey Weinstein, TWC Co-Chairmen:

"Any actor who jumps on board with one of Quentin's films is in for a wild and rewarding ride. We couldn't be any more thrilled with the fantastic group of performers we've assembled for The Hateful Eight some perennial fixtures in his movies and some newcomers - and can't wait to kick off the shoot in Telluride."
B. Alan Orange at Movieweb
B. Alan Orange