Drafthouse Films, Timpson Films and Magnet Releasing are teaming up for a project called The ABCs of Death, bringing together 26 different directors to create short films, each based on a letter of the alphabet, featuring "death in all its vicious wonder and brutal beauty." Production begins next month, with completion slated for January 2012.

The ABCs of Death Posters

A mix of 25 established and emerging filmmakers will take part in the series with a 26th yet to be named as part of a world wide competition. Each director will be assigned a letter from the alphabet that represents a word "to act as a springboard for a short story of death." Each individual will then interpret the letter and word they are given to give a "deathly tale, from the accidental to murder most foul" - the "ABCs of Death."

"I got to the letter A and said yes," commented Magnet SVP Tom Quinn in a statement. "We're super excited to be working with a familiar cast of Magnet directors as well as Tim League and Ant Timpson."

The current list of confirmed participating directors includes:

Banjong Pisanthanakun (Shutter, Alone)

Angela Bettis (Roman)

Adrian Garcia Bogliano (Cold Sweat)

Jason Eisener (Hobo with a Shotgun)

Ernesto Díaz Espinoza (Mirageman)

Bruno Forzani and Hélène Cattet (Amer)

Gadi Harel (Deadgirl)

Thomas Cappelen Malling (Norwegian Ninja)

Yoshihiro Nishimura (Tokyo Gore Police; Vampire Girl Vs. Frankenstein Girl)

Simon Rumley (The Living and the Dead; Red, White and Blue)

Tak Sakaguchi and Yuji Shimomura (Yakuza Weapon)

Marcel Sarmiento (Deadgirl)

Srdjan Spasojevic (A Serbian Film)

Timo Tjahjanto (Macabre)

Andrew Traucki (Black Water, The Reef)

Nacho Vigalando (TimeCrimes)

Jake West (Doghouse, Evil Aliens)

Ti West (The House of the Devil, The Innkeepers)

Ben Wheatley (Down Terrace, Kill List)

Adam Wingard (Pop Skull, A Horrible Way to Die)