Smallville creators/executive producers Al Gough and Miles Millar are leaving the veteran drama after seven seasons, as was previously reported.

According to The Hollywood Reporter, The CW has announced that co-executive producers Todd Slavkin, Darren Swimmer, Kelly Souders and Brian Peterson have been upped to executive producers and will serve as showrunners on the show's upcoming eighth season.

RELATED: Michael B. Jordan's Val Zod Project Moves Forward with Transformers: Rise of the Beasts Writers
"Al Gough and Miles Millar have been great partners and instrumental in the development and success of 'Smallville,'" CW and "Smallville" producer Warner Bros. TV said in a joint statement. Todd, Darren, Kelly, and Brian have been writing for the show for the past six seasons, and as producers for the last four years, they have played an integral role in the ongoing creative evolution of the series. As showrunners, they will continue to deliver the compelling storytelling that "Smallville" fans have come to expect and love."

Now in its seventh season, Smallville, which originally launched on the WB, continues to be CW's top scripted series. It was recently picked up for fall.