Superhero films are starting to get respect, with The Dark Knight director, Christopher Nolan being honored by the American Society of Cinematographers at their 23rd annual ASC Outstanding Achievement Awards on February 15, 2009. According to The Hollywood Reporter, Nolan is being honored with the Board of Governors Award, which is presented annually to "to an individual who has made significant contributions to advancing the art of filmmaking."

Nolan is being honored for his work on such films as Memento, The Prestige, Batman Begins and The Dark Knight.

"Chris Nolan is infused with talent with which he masterfully uses to collaboratively create memorable motion pictures," ASC president Daryn Okada said. "His quest for superlative images to tell stories has earned the admiration of our members." Wally Pfister, Nolan's cinematographer ever since Memento, adds, "Chris is an amazingly talented and collaborative director who brings out the best in everyone around him."

Previous recipients of the Board of Directors Award from the American Society of Cinematographers include Gregory Peck, Steven Spielberg, Martin Scorsese, Robert Wise, Francis Ford Coppola, Robert Altman, Warren Beatty, Stanley Donen, Norman Jewison, Irwin Winkler, Sydney Pollack, Ron Howard, and Annette Bening.