The Houston Film Critics Society honored The Social Network as the best movie of 2010 and named Jesse Eisenberg (The Social Network) and Natalie Portman (Black Swan) best actor and actress in ceremonies Saturday.

The organization also bestowed its Lifetime Achievement award to Sissy Spacek, the Quitman, Texas native who shot to fame and stayed there with brilliant career performances in Carrie, Coal Miner's Daughter and most recently, Get Low. Regardless of the style of the roles Ms. Spacek takes on, she provides gripping performances that are admired by all.

RELATED: Aaron Sorkin Still Hopes to Make The Social Network 2 with Director David Fincher

George Clooney, a veteran actor perhaps best known for his work in TV's ER, the Ocean's Eleven trilogy and Up in the Air, received the society's Humanitarian of the Year Award for his work since 2008 as one of the United Nations Messengers of Peace. His advocacy for the conflict resolution in Darfur, the Haitian earthquake and the 9/11 victims fund made Mr. Clooney a very deserving choice.

The Houston Film Critics Society awards were presented in a film clip-filled ceremony Saturday at the Museum of Fine Arts' Brown Auditorium.

The Social Network, a ground-breaking drama about the creation of Facebook, received four awards from the Houston group. Aside from Best Picture and Eisenberg's Best Actor award, David Fincher was named Best Director and Aaron Sorkin won for Best Screenplay.

Inception received two awards. Wally Pfister won for Best Cinematography and Hans Zimmer won for Best Original Score.

The other music award went to Beck for composing the year's Best Song, "We are Sex Bob-Omb!" from Scott Pilgrim Vs. the World.

Other awards went to Restrepo which was named Best Documentary and to The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo for Best Foreign Language Film.

Additional winners included Christian Bale as Best Supporting Actor for his work in The Fighter, newcomer Hailee Steinfeld won Best Supporting Actress for her work in True Grit and Toy Story 3 won for Best Animated Feature.

The HFCS also recognized Jonah Hex as the Worst Film of the Year.

The society also handed out two Special Achievement in Cinema awards to Charles Dove for his work with the Rice Media Center and to Hector Luna, founder and editor of the Texas film industry magazine, C-47 Houston.

Founded in 2007, the Houston Film Critics Society is comprised of critics from the most influential Houston-area newspapers, magazines, TV & radio stations and websites with both regional and national audiences and was organized for the purpose of increasing public awareness of cinematic excellence and to encourage the publication and broadcasting of substantive critical commentary on film. This is the fourth year the organization has presented Best of the Year awards.

The Houston Film Critics Society Complete List of 2010 Winners:

The Houston Film Critics Society Top Ten Films for 2010: