Bob and Harvey Weinstein announced today they have signed on to executive produce, finance, and distribute a big-screen adaptation of author Ira Levin's (Rosemary's Baby, The Stepford Wives, Deathtrap) 1973 Broadway thriller Veronica's Room, produced by The Allegiance Theater's Daniel Dubiecki (Juno, Up in the Air) and Lara Alameddine, who originally brought the project to the Weinsteins' new moniker, TWC-Dimension.

The dark tale of Veronica's Room explores the thin line between fantasy and reality. Students Susan and Larry find themselves enticed to an old New England mansion by its caretakers to meet the sole surviving member of the family. They insist that Susan bears a striking resemblance to Veronica, the family member's long-dead sister. They believe her presence will comfort the dementia-afflicted woman and allow her to die in peace. But what begins as a simple errand of mercy quickly spirals into a nightmare cycle of guilt, sacrifice, and murder.

Here's what Bob Weinstein had to say in a statement.

"From Rosemary's Baby to Deathtrap, Harvey and I have been admirers of Ira Levin, as he has created some of the greatest thrillers in film history. With Veronica's Room we have discovered a hidden gem that is going to reintroduce Ira's genius to a new generation. It will also provide a fantastic opportunity for top-tier actors and actresses to embody Ira Levin's fascinating, complicated characters.

Producer Daniel Dubiecki also released the following statement.

"It's such an honor that after 40 years, the Levin family has trusted us with bringing Veronica's Room to the big screen. All of Levin's works are rich in character and story, and this play is another great psychological thriller in the vein of Rosemary's Baby. Bob and Harvey are our perfect partners for the material, and we look forward to creating another potential classic together."

The Allegiance Theater's Tim Crane is executive producer on Veronica's Room, and co-producer is head of development Carly Norris, who brought the project to the company to develop. The Allegiance Theater optioned the rights before setting up the film at TWC-Dimension. The deal for Veronica's Room was negotiated by Adrian Lopez, SVP, Business and Legal Affairs for TWC-Dimension, with WME and Richard Thompson at Bloom Hergott Diemer Rosenthal Laviolette Feldman Schenkman & Goodman on behalf of The Allegiance Theater. Overseeing production for TWC-Dimension are SVP of Production and Creative Affairs Matthew Signer and VP of Production and Development Keith Levine.

Cinemark Movie Club